This award is given every 2 years at the ISPD Congress. The John Maher Award was established by the ISPD to honour young individuals who have contributed substantially to the field of peritoneal dialysis. Candidates must be younger than 45 years old and have demonstrated expertise in either the scientific, medical or nursing aspects of PD.

Application Process

Nominations from the nominator must include a CV and a summary of the candidate’s accomplishments.  The Awards Committee will judge the application and advise the council on the winner, based on the excellence in research, clinical attributes in PD, publications, patient impact and recognition at national and international level, and potential for further peritoneal dialysis research.

Please send nominations by email, care of the to the Chairpersons of the Awards committee, Drs. Saralevi Naicker and Roberto Pecoits-Filho , to by September 15, 2015.


Members and non-members can apply. Candidates need to be of age below 45 years by September 15, 2015.

Award Amount

This is for US $5,000 and given at the ISPD Congress. The successful candidate is expected to give a lecture at the Congress on his/her work. The ISPD covers the cost of travel in getting to the meeting.

Past Awardees 1995 – 2016

1995    Andrzej Breborowicz and Barbara Prowant (ISPD Congress – Stockholm, Sweden)
1998    Nicholas Topley (ISPD Congress – Seoul, Korea)
2001    Tao Wang (ISPD Congress  Montréal, Canada)
2004    Ann De Vriese  (ISPD Congress Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
2006    Angela Yee-Moon Wang and Rajnish Mehrothra  (ISPD Congress Hong Kong, China)
2008    Roberto Pecoits Filho (ISPD Congress Istanbul, Turkey)
2010    Qiang Yao (ISPD Congress Mexico City, Mexico)
2012    CC Szeto (ISPD Congress Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
2014    Karen Yeates (ISPD Congress Madrid, Spain)
2016    Jeffrey Perl (ISPD Congress Melbourne, Australia)

The 17th Congress of the International Society for Peritoneal Dialysis

5 – 9 May 2018
Vancouver, Canada

Subscribe to our mailing list

Are you a...