John Maher Award

The nomination period for the 2024 John Maher Award will be opened in early 2024.

This award is given every 2 years at the ISPD Congress. The John Maher Award was established by the ISPD to honour young individuals who have contributed substantially to the field of peritoneal dialysis. Candidates must be younger than 45 years old and have demonstrated expertise in either the scientific, medical, or nursing aspects of PD.

Nomination Process

Nominations must include a CV and a summary of the candidate’s accomplishments, together with the name of the nominator.  The Awards Committee will judge the application and advise the Council on the winner, based on the excellence in research, clinical attributes in PD, publications, patient impact and recognition at the national and international levels, and potential for further peritoneal dialysis research.


Members and non-members can apply. Candidates need to be of age below 45 years by the ISPD congress 2024.

Please note that self-nominations for the John Maher award will not be accepted.

Award Amount

The awardee will receive USD $5,000 at the ISPD Dubai 2024 Congress. The successful candidate is expected to give a lecture at the Congress on their work. The ISPD covers the cost of travel in getting to the meeting.

Past Awardees

2022    Yeoung Jee Cho (ISPD Congress Singapore, Singapore)
2020    Adrian Liew (Online ISPD-EuroPD Joint Congress)
2018    Jie Dong (ISPD Congress Vancouver, Canada)
2016    Jeffrey Perl (ISPD Congress Melbourne, Australia)
2014    Karen Yeates (ISPD Congress Madrid, Spain)
2012    CC Szeto (ISPD Congress Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
2010    Qiang Yao (ISPD Congress Mexico City, Mexico)
2008    Roberto Pecoits Filho (ISPD Congress Istanbul, Turkey)
2006    Angela Yee-Moon Wang and Rajnish Mehrotra  (ISPD Congress Hong Kong, China)
2004    Ann De Vriese  (ISPD Congress Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
2001    Tao Wang (ISPD Congress  Montréal, Canada)
1998    Nicholas Topley (ISPD Congress – Seoul, Korea)
1995    Andrzej Breborowicz and Barbara Prowant (ISPD Congress – Stockholm, Sweden)


Subscribe to our mailing list

Are you a...