Select Language

About the ISPD
Peritoneal Dialysis International: The Official Journal of the ISPD
Scholarships / Awards
Questions about PD
ISPD Guidelines and Standards
Educational Material
Regional Chapters
Events & Meetings
Research Grant for International Studies
Corporate Members
Request ISPD Endorsement of Meeting
Contact Us
Education Committee

Sharon Nessim (Canada)

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Sharon Nessim is an Assistant Professor at McGill University and a Staff Nephrologist in the Department of Medicine at the Jewish General Hospital in Montreal, Canada. She received her Medical Degree from McGill University and completed her Clinical Nephrology Fellowship training at the University of Toronto. She subsequently obtained a Master's degree in Clinical Epidemiology from the University of Toronto. Dr. Nessim has been actively involved in observational research focused on PD-related infections as well as outcomes among PD patients, and has published several peer-reviewed articles. She serves as a reviewer for multiple journals, and has given lectures on PD-related topics at several national and international meetings. She has served as a member of the ISPD Education Committee since 2010.


  • To enhance the knowledge of peritoneal dialysis amongst Nephrology practitioners, trainees, and patients worldwide through the development, maintenance, and promotion of optimal educational material by:
    • Promoting the use of ISPD-endorsed curricula and training programs;
    • Promoting the development of ISPD-endorsed peritoneal dialysis teaching courses; and
  • Developing an internet-based approach to peritoneal dialysis education.


Generic Membership

  • A minimum of 4 physicians: one European, one North American, one Asian and one Latin-American (including the Chair)
  • A nurse and renal dietitian available for particular issues. (It might be reasonable to have a member of the Nursing Committee also being cross-appointed to the Education & Standards Committee)
  • Paediatric representative


  • A member of Council or the Executive

Sub-Committee Members

  • Sharon Nessim, Chair (Canada)
  • Sunil Badve  (Australia)
  • Jie Dong (China)
  • Helen Hurst (UK)
  • Johann Morelle  (Belgium)
  • Vivek Jha (India)
  • Liliana Gadola (Uruguay)
  • Peter Nourse (South Africa)
  • Scott Liebman (USA)

Future Goals

  • Issue recommendations for fellowship training in peritoneal dialysis
  • Review curriculum for peritoneal dialysis nursing

Upcoming Events